Back to the Eighties with Lanny

Welcome new readers and old alike, haven’t posted on the blog in a bit but got a great post for today. While I haven’t been writing here as much, I’ve been quite active via Twitter @ShaneKatz73 on pickups and trades.

lanny1

Today’s post is a trade made via Twitter with Lanny over @DOCBZ17. I happen to have some Frank Thomas and Dwight Gooden cards for his player collection needs, and in turn, Lanny loaded me up with some great 80’s oddballs along with some surprise Red Sox cards!

docs

First up, a couple of cool custom XRC cards of Doctor K. Think of that 1984 Donruss Set if they had Puckett, Clemens, and Gooden as Rated Rookies???!!!! That would have been something! Lanny also included a run of custom 80s cards of his sons, but I won’t share those here for privacy reasons, however they will be in the 80s oddball album.

83redspolice

Next up in the package was this awesome 1983 Cincinnati Reds Yearbook card set! This is one of the team issues I didn’t have a sample of nor is it listed here. This is the type of 1980’s issue I love to track down and thanks to Lanny, I have a copy. Overall, there were 16 different cards in the set.

85das

Next up, some 1985 Donruss Action All-Stars and this fills two needs, Red Sox (Boggs and Evans) and the rest of the lot for the 80s oddball album.

85circleK

Next was a 1985 Topps Circle K box set of Home Run Greats. I’ll throw Teddy and Yaz into my oddball Sox album as I didn’t have yet.

85kas

Here is one of the first items Lanny had shot me via Twitter to see if I had and I did not nor had I seen before! These discs are from the 1985 Kas Potato Chip issue. These measure 2-3/4″ in diameter and included 20 different players. This is another example of a regional issue that was never found in New England as KAS is based in St. Louis. Love the Ripken!

85toppsatr

Another Topps box set issue, this time the 1985 Woolworth’s All-Time Record Holders edition featuring may HOFers and non-HOFers. This was another Teddy issue I didn’t have for my Sox oddballs.

86blc

The 1986 Big League Chew Home Run Legends is a set I remembered as a kid. I had a handful of these from getting pouches of the shredded bubble gum at my Little League snack shack. Nice to have a bunch I didn’t have. All in all, there are 12 different cards of MLBs 500 Home Run kings.

86daspu

Popping up next, the 1986 Donruss All Star Pop-Up cards. As a kid, I thought these were some of the coolest cards. This concept goes back to the 1911 Mecca Doubleheaders and 1934 Batter Ups.

86kas_cards

Another regional Kas Potato Chip issue, this one of the 1986 St. Louis Cardinals and celebrating their 1985 National League Pennant. This Kas issue measures slightly larger than the previous year at 2-7/8″ in diameter and contains 20 different Red Bird players.

86quaker

Who’s hungry? You would be to find these 1986 Topps Quaker Granola cards. There are 33 cards in the set and Lanny managed to find six of them I didn’t have yet!

86slurp

And to wash down all those granola bars, how about some 1986 7-Eleven Slurpee Discs. These are another great find from Lanny as they are from the Midwestern Region! 7-Eleven distributed these coins in four different regions, with some of these discs being region-specific, see the above Star Second Basemen (Doran/Herr/Oester).

86toppstats

And while we’re recovering from our sugar-coma, lets get all tatted up with these 1986 Topps Tattoos! Nice to get a clean Buckner as these one i had came from a recent pack find at the LCS and had bled from the gum’s moisture.

87das87dass2

More Donruss All-Star Pop-Ups and Action All-Stars! I didn’t have any of these outside a Mattingly so nice to get a variety here.

87toppsnest

Next up was another food issue I didn’t have yet for the 80s oddball album, this one the 1987 Topps Nestle Dream Team consisting of 33 cards and a checklist. Love the color combo on these backs, they really pop! The Teddy is another new one issue I didn’t have!

88grenada

Next, Lanny sent a couple of 1988 Grenada stamps. These came in color coded sheet sets, nine different colors with nine different stamps to a sheet. I have one of the sheets (green) so it’s nice to get a couple single stamps from a different sheet.

1987-Barry-Colla

Here’s another oddball team issue, this one from the 1987 Barry Colla New York Mets team postcard set. Tim Teufel strikes a pose with spring training camp as the backdrop.

toppsbig1toppsbig2

Next up, a couple of 1989 Topps Big Series Two packs. It was fun opening these and one issue from the 80s I don’t have many of. These will go into my 1980s major releases album alongside other 1989 flagship sets.

tcmaredsox

And now, onto some oddball Red Sox issues, one I surprisingly didn’t have any of! These are from TCMA’s 1987 Baseball’s All-Time Greats set. Can’t believe I didn’t have any of these!

69sox

This is another Red Sox issue I didn’t have, the 1969 Globe Imports Playing Cards Gas Station issue of Tony C and New Englands favorite dentist, Jim Lonborg! The set consists of 55 blank backed cards that measure 1-5/8 x 2″ The black & white cards were printed on thin paper stock and was issued in very scarce quantity, and sold at gas stations in the Southern USA. While I was aware of these, I had never picked any up, in any case that’s an awesome find Lanny!

soxautos

And last but not least, Lanny included these awesome autographed Sox cards!!! While I have a decent assortment of Sox autos, these are three I didn’t have! The Lonborg is in pen which harkens back to the olden days when Sharpies didn’t exist.

Thank you again Lanny for the great trade!!! This one was full of surprises and awesome regional oddball issues! I’ll be sure to keep my eyes open for Docs, Frank Thomas, and Konerko’s for ya, you can follow Lanny here.

4 thoughts on “Back to the Eighties with Lanny”

    1. Trying to, a lot of different items out there. Take the Reds issue; its in the Lemke’s Standard Catalog but not on that Trading Sportscard Database. It’s part of the fun of finding traders in different parts of the country.

      Like

Leave a Reply

