Oddball Ortiz’

Just a quick post showcasing a couple of sweet looking David Ortiz pieces I recently picked up. The blanket was from my LCS, while the other game piece was from eBay.

blanket_ortiz

2006 Topps Turkey Red B-18 Felt Blanket

The first piece is this 2006 Topps Turkey Red B-18 Felt Blanket. This cool piece measures 5.25 x 5.25” and was issued as a box topper for the Turkey Red product. This is considered the white background version as I have also seen an orange background on eBay. Big Papi is one of 20 different blankets in the checklist but haven’t come across how many were produced of each nor the pull rate of a hobby box.

I had been eyeing this for close to half a year before I recently pulled the trigger. It’s not expensive by any means at a sale of six dollars, but where it wasn’t a standard card size it wasn’t something I was racing to grab. But alas, I’m coming around on odd shaped Red Sox collectibles as they are starting to look great in my Red Sox oddball album. Keep that in mind fellow bloggers if you come across some old Red Sox postcards, advertising panels, team issued photos …. I’ll certainly trade for them.

16_hert_ortiz

2016 Topps Heritage “1967 Punch Out” Box Topper # 67POB-DO

This next piece is one I just happened to see on eBay and thought it was pretty cool. Packed randomly into 2016 Topps Heritage hobby boxes, Ortiz is one of 20 cards in the checklist. The original versions from 1967 are scarce and will easily run you north of $100–300 for the star players. Next to some of my relic Papi pieces, this is one of the coolest items I have of his.

I gotta say, without Ortiz in Red Sox camp, it’s been a very quiet and boring Spring Training. Supposedly, the Red Sox television network (NESN) is bringing in Big Papi to do some color analysis work this summer. The current, and long time analyst Jerry Remy, is battling cancer once again. Best wishes to the him getting well and back into the booth.

3 thoughts on “Oddball Ortiz’”

Comments are closed.