A Walk Off … the Plank

Thank God it’s Friday!! Man, these short work weeks have been a pain in the behind work-wise. People off for school vacations, rush jobs coming in left and right, and somehow I have had a little time (granted it’s usually between 12–1 AM on the east coast) to write. That’s been pretty easy this week with all the trades coming in and on that note, let’s Walk the Plank.

12_t5star_agon

So a couple weeks ago, the great Mark Hoyle started a Twitter conversation with myself and Matt at Bob Walk the Plank, introducing us to each other and suggested we’d be good trading partners. Matt wanted to start small and said he’d find some stuff and shoot it my way so this is what came in the mail today. Okay, uhm Matt … the above card is not small. First off, it’s big, as in pretty damn thick big! Second, this card carries some value here. being a dual relic. The card above is from the 2012 Topps Five Star line featuring a dual auto on card/jersey relic of Adrian Gonzalez. This is a beautiful card Matt and I can’t thank you enough! I certainly wish I had a Pirate card of the same stature but I’ll see what I can come up to send your way.

AGon was one of those players that then GM Theo Epstein, had coveted for a couple of years. In December of 2010, the San Diego Padres traded Gonzalez  to the Red Sox for a player to be named later, Reymond Fuentes, Casey Kelly and Anthony Rizzo. Man, we could use a guy like Rizzo here in the Hub. While Adrian played well in he brief time in Boston, I wasn’t an overly big fan of his but I don’t know why. I didn’t dislike or hate him, but he wasn’t the dirt dog that a Dustin Pedroia or Kevin Youkilis was. He just seemed to lack persona or something. Any how, it’s a pretty sweet looking card I have to say.

76_host_1

Also in the package were these 1976 Hostess cards. A couple of Sox in Fisk and Lynn I didn’t have along with two ex-Sox in Reggie Smith and Ted Sizemore.

76_host_2

And to close out, more ’76 Hostess cards. The Johnny Bench is a real beauty as is the Lou Brock and you have to love the tequila sunrise that Big Bad Bob Watson is laying down. Thanks again Matt and I definitely will get a return package out to you soon!!! A shout out to Mark Hoyle for the introduction as well! Thank you for reading!

4 thoughts on “A Walk Off … the Plank”

Comments are closed.