Oddball Mania with Collating Cards

steve_pack

Ahh it almost feels like Spring here in New England, and with that, the first Grapefruit games will be on TV and radio this coming weekend. Today’s post is one I received last week from Steve at Collating Cards! I had sent him a bunch of cards for his various set needs and the above is what came back my way. He is one of several great trade partners I have connected with via Twitter.

herit_relics

Now I preface this post with I AM A RED SOX FAN, just want to be clear as many of these cards are Braves. And while they may be a bunch of Braves cards here in the package, they all hit my various wants right now which is fine with me! The above are a variety of Topps Heritage Relics. Plain and simple — I love the Heritage line for the look and feel, the photography, the inserts, box loader, sample panels … everything. And while the Heritage products are a bitch to put a set together, it’s not stopping me from putting together an album of my favorite cards from the line (2001 – present). My two favorites from this lot are the 1962 Carlos Santana as the only other relic from this year I have is Ichiro. The other is the Julio Teheran as that is from a retro flannel-like jersey.

arch_inserts

Next up, the first of many Topps archives inserts and one Topps Lineage Hank Aaron “1964 Stand Up.” I love the original Stand Up set and this is my first from the Lineage product. I like the Tall Ball of Otis Nixon as well, since that is my first of this insert too.

arch_inserts2

Next up, more inserts from both the Archives and Lineage in the form of “1969 Deckle Edge.” I have a feeling the 1968 Topps Game card will get more run a couple weeks from now when the 2017 Topps Heritage (1968 burlaps) rolls out.

rch_inserts3

The last group of Topps Archives inserts … “1977 Cloth Stickers.” I went from having a couple cards to now two pages worth.

sox

One item that Steve mention in our Twitter messages were these Nomar Garciaparra Twizzlers cards. Heck, they’re still in their wrappers! These cards were produced by Upper Deck in 2002 and somehow I never saw them in stores around here in Red Sox Nation. These are the two Nomah cards in the set, that also consists of other sports stars like Alonzo Mourning, Kevin Harvick, Donavan McNabb, and Garciaparra’s wife — Mia Hamm. Another great item for my Sox oddball album!

80s_kell

Breakfast!!! Kellogg’s style with Bob Horner (1982, 1981, 1983). Only my second 1982 Kellogg’s card too.

80s_odd

More 80s oddball goodies here! From the top, 1986 True Value cards of Seaver and Yount, 1989 MSA Weis Winners of Canseco and McGwire, and a 1981 MSA Peter Pan Sunbeam Bakery Horner disc. These three discs are my firsts for either series — great oddballs Steve!

80s_sends

Other 80s cards included these 1985 Topps Send-Away Glossies …

80s_as

… and these 1988 Topps Glossy All-Stars found in rack packs …

80s_glss_rook

… and to close out, a near set of 1989 Topps Glossy Rookies that were found in jumbo cello packs.

mag_cards

And to close out this great trade package, we have a handful of Topps the Magazine insert cards and a Ted Williams “1953 Topps” from a 1983 issue of Baseball Cards magazine. This is a card I had as a kid but along the way got lost, thrown out, or traded away. Now, I have a copy once again!

Thank you again Steve for a great traded package!! Let’s do it again down the road.

2 thoughts on “Oddball Mania with Collating Cards”

Comments are closed.