Digging Out, Catching Up

So Winter finally decided to arrive here in New England, almost another foot and we have 40-50 mph winds/gusts today. So before I dig out yet again, I thought I’d catch up on posting some LCS goodies from the last haul … and all a nickel a pop.

clemens

First up, a bunch of Roger Clemens, all are Fleer inserts except for the 1992 Post Cereal and the 1989 Donruss Opening Day.

boggs

… Some Wade Boggs, I love the 1986 Topps Wax Box Bottom Card and the 1991 Score Cooperstown Card.

misc_sox

Some miscellaneous Red Sox from the Swell Baseball Greats Series (1989-91) and a couple of Upper Deck Decade Series that I didn’t have but will find a spot for.

83d_hof

Next up is this batch of 1983 Donruss Hall of Fame Heroes. This 44-card set showcased the artwork of Dick Perez, he of Diamond Kings fame, and were available in wax packs. Each pack came with eight cards and a Mickey Mantle puzzle piece card. This was a set my brother had but for whatever reason, I never picked one up until coming across these in one of the shop’s monster boxes. This and the over-sized Action All-Stars, were Donruss’ first explorations of producing sets outside of their flagship issue.

topps_misc

Next up, some of my favorite oddballs from the 1980s—Drake’s cards!!! I cannot tell you how many box of Ring Dings, Yodels, and Devil Dogs I consumed as a kid, yet never completed any of the sets. To this day, I still will stop by the Drake’s section in a supermarket just to see if one of these days, they bring back baseball cards to products. I also loved these Quaker cards and they carried the MLB logos and names … I always thought some of these photos where better than the flagship cards.

topps_as

Some Topps Glossy All-Stars from rack packs of the 1980’s and a 1989 Glossy Rookies that could be found in jumbo cello packs.

topps_sends

… and speaking of glossy, a handful of those Topps Send-Aways that I used get as a kid!

topps_misc2

How about some Topps Junk Wax Era box set singles. Love the young, normal looking Barry Bonds here adorning the classic pillbox hat of the 80’s. Nice Bob Boone cameo on the George Brett Boardwalk of Baseball card. Whatever happened to that place??

fleer_misc

And we can’t talk about box sets without mentioning Fleer! A nice selection of young Hall of Famers here. I’ve always like these 1987 Fleer Star Stickers (Darryl Strawberry) … I wish Fleer could have used this design for a flagship set, maybe with a white border instead of green?

bb_imort

Here is a collection of Baseball Immortals that was originally issued in 1980 and later updated in 1984, 1986 and 1987. The Baseball Immortals set was the first to depict every member of the Baseball Hall of Fame.

The cards themselves do not mention a manufacturer, but it has been commonly referred to as an SSPC issue, although it was distributed mainly by TCMA and another top card dealer of the era, Renata Galasso. The original 1980 issue had a 173-card checklist that included every Hall of Fame member from the original 1936 class of Babe Ruth, Ty Cobb, Walter Johnson, Christy Mathewson and Honus Wagner through 1980 inductees Duke Snider, Al Kaline, Chuck Klein and former Red Sox owner Tom Yawkey.

They carry a similar design to the 1975 Topps design on the front, while the card backs bear a strong resemblance to 1954 Bowman, albeit using yellow ink not red. I remember getting a couple of these through my Scholastic Book Club as a kid in elementary school. There always seemed to be a baseball card or football card kit in the monthly flyer.

89_jj_189_jj_289_jj_sox

And the last issues today from the 1980s, and probably the last food issue I tried to find as kid … 1989 J.J. Nissen Super Stars. This 20-card set was distributed in bakery products and can remember looking for the Red Sox cards in loaves of bread when my mom went grocery shopping. Why some many Red Sox in the set? It was a New England Company and I have to think Teddy Ballgame was a spokesman for their brand. There is actually a variation in this set, as some of the Mark Grace cards carry an image of Vance Law, not Grace.

topps_new_inserts

And to close the loop on this LCS haul (and I didn’t even scan half the stuff for time sake), we have some modern inserts from in the Topps Opening Day products. I really like these Kellogg’s type cards and always on the lookout for more. I also love the “Topps Supers” that Topps inserted into the 2016 Topps Archives packs, nice shot of Lindor here.

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

And with that, I should have a busy week posting, and the plan is to write a bunch while the wife watches her Bachelor show tonight. I’ve got a couple of packages out the door tomorrow and received a couple great ones from Kin at I Feel Like a Collector Again and Steve at Collating Cards, and Shane at Shoebox Legends who gave me a jump start on a new set. PLUS, I have I finally received a Topps redemption that was well worth the weight. Stay tuned and thanks for reading!

17 thoughts on “Digging Out, Catching Up”

  1. Wow on the Boardwalk… that was a big deal for a couple of years. I was only in that particular card store for about a lil over an hour as he was closing early. I seriously need to go back and do a full day. The amount of oddballs I could pull for other blogs would be something monumental! I might try to hit Saturday and then try to get to the Mansfield show on Monday as I have the day off.

    Like

    1. LOL! Well the first time I had been in this particular LCS, it was 15 cards for a buck. I walked outta there with over 160 cards — there are many, many more boxes to go through!

      Like

      1. I thought I had an extra Mattingly but I don’t. I do however have an extra McGwire. I’d trade it for a glow ink Red Sox card if you have one. Message me your address on Twitter and I’ll get out to you.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’m opening more packs tonight and I’ll see what I have. Right now, the extra I have is Carlos Quintana. I’ll let you know in a bit.

        Like

Comments are closed.