Picking Up My Sox

Good to steal a couple minutes to bang out a long awaited post. I think I’ve had this is draft mode for a good two weeks but just can’t find to the time to write. So in my pursuit of my All-Time Red Sox collection, I managed to cross off a number of cards between a couple of eBay sellers. Without further ado …

hall

1907 T207 Charlie Hall Recruit Factory No. 240

Picked up this beauty as the price was right and beat having a reprint in the collection. This set often gets overlooked compared to the more colorful T205 and T206 sets. True, the 207s are more drab with their brown backgrounds, but when you can pick up a card that is almost 110 years old(!!!!!)—yes please all day long! This is my second T207, I have a slabbed PSA 4 Duffy Lewis. Charley pitched for nine seasons, five of those as a Red Sox. He was part of the 1912 World Series team going 15-8 with a 3.02 ERA. Over his time with the Sox, Hall was used as both a starter and reliever.

40pb

1940 Play Ball #31 John “Jack” Wilson

Jack during his seven years (1935-41) in Boston was a .500 pitcher going 67-67 while sporting a 4.44 ERA. Man, doesn’t get any more bland than that! His best year was 1937 when he went 16-10 and a 3.70 earn run average. I’ve always liked these Play Ball cards from the 1939-40, the backs contain a nice bio and you can’t beat some of the old black and white photography.

40pb2

1940 Play Ball Gene Desautels

Gene is actually a local boy, being born just a couple of towns away in Worcester, Massachusetts and playing for Holy Cross. Desautels at one part was the backup to Hall of Famer Rick Ferrell and later had World War II spy Moe Berg backing him up. That’s quite the pairing there behind the plate. During his four years with the Sox (1937-40), he played in 351 games while hitting .254.

bowman

Assorted 1950’s Bowmans

I absolutely love the artwork on the 1950-52 Bowman sets!!! I’d love to pick up some non-Red Sox. Something about the old plank fence on the 1950 Ken Keltner screams of sandlot ball. One of my favorite all-time sets has got to be the 1955 Bowman set. I don’t know what it is, but that old television set just draws me in. Maybe its all the cool stadium architecture in the background or the different write ups on the back. If I ever came into some serious money I could blow, it might be on this set. If anyone has any of these drop me a line and I’ll see what I can trade you. Would mind trying to put together the 2004 Heritage version as well.

52t

1952 Topps Gumpert & Wood

Next up a couple of ’52 Topps in Randy Gumpert and Ken Wood. Surprisingly, Gumpert appears as a Red Sox in the set as he pitched in only 10 games before he was shipped off to Washington with Walt Masterson for Sid Hudson. And speaking of short-timers donning the red stockings, Wood had 24 plate appearances with the Sox in 1952 before being traded in June of that year to Washington for Archie Wilson. Archie Wilson would make an appearance in the 1952 Topps set as a Sox and I believe it’s a semi-hi number at #327.

sox1

Assorted 1960’s Topps

No special names here, just all guys I needed from the mid 1960s.

• 1964 Topps Pete Smith
• 1964 Topps Dave Gray
• 1965 Topps Jay Ritchie
• 1966 Topps Ken Sanders
• 1966 Topps Bob Sadowski

Picking up from the above paragraph—more short-timers! Pete Smith pitched in only 7 major league cards over the parts of 1962-63, all with the Sox while yielding a 6.75 earn run average. Dave Gray pitched in only nine games in the majors as a 21-year old in 1964, and it’s no wonder why. In thirteen innings of work, he gave up 18 hits, 20 runs, 3 HRs, walked 20 and also had 4 wild pitches. YIKES!!!

Jay Ritchie pitched for the Sox during the summers of 1964-65 as a relief pitching. Nothing special and while he sported a 3.00 ERA with them, he also had a WHIP of 1.419. Not good my friends. Ken Sanders put together a 10-year major league career over the course of eight teams, he one season with the Sox was in 1966 when he went 3-6 with a 3.80 ERA. His best year came in 1971 with the Milwaukee Brewers when he led the American League in games, games finished, and saves while finishing 16th in the MVP voting. Bob Sadowski occupies a hi-number slot in the 1966 Topps set. He would finish he short career in Boston pitching in only 11 games while going 1-1 and 5.40 ERA.

All in all, no big names, but all names I needed for the All-Time collection.

 

5 thoughts on “Picking Up My Sox”

Comments are closed.