Shriner’s Show Haul

shriners

So Saturday, I finally had put some “me” time on the calendar to head up to Wilmington, Massachusetts for the annual fall GBSCC Shriner’s Show. It would also be a chance to finally meet Mark Hoyle, and in turn a couple other bloggers which I’ll touch on below.

Since I left the show, I haven’t had to time to cross off lists, take pictures, or even really look at my spoils. I left the show and raced home to catch my daughters soccer game and then the usually son’s soccer game on Sunday and a variety of chores kept side-tracking me. I’ll have to go more in depth on more of the haul, but for the time being (stuck in training today), I’m going to try to bang this out this morning while in training.

INSIDE THE NUMBERS

1959 Topps Set Needs: 111, including #1 Ford Frick and 8 high numbers cards and then one more high number thanks to Matt over at Number 5 Type Collection.

1965 Topps Set Needs: 78, including some a couple of Hall of Famers (Killebrew, Sphan second year) I was still in need of.

All-Time Red Sox Needs: 23, including four cards from the aforementioned Mark Hoyle.

I certainly saw a number of food issues from the 1970’s I was hoping to grab, but ran out of my budget money and time. My priorities here were to make a bigger dent into my ’59 and ’65 Topps sets and also try to find some Sox for my All-Time Collection. With that, lets jump in …

73t_sox

I needed these 1973 Topps cards as I had pulled them from my Sox collection and used then in the 1973 Topps set I am also buidling.

68t_sox

Same here with these 1968 Topps, have another copy of each of these in my ’68 set that I am building. This is Elston Howard’s last card of the one great Yankee backstop.

50t_sox

Some late 50’s Topps cards I needed for the Sox collection.

50sb_sox

A bunch of early Bowman beauties here! 1949 Stan Spence, 1950 Walt Masterson, 1951’s Matt Batts and HoFer Lou Boudreau, and 1952 Vern Stephens. I absolutely love the artwork on these early 50s Bowman cards … maybe someday I’ll try working one one of those sets, probably the 1950 issue since I won’t have to worry about the Mantle or Mays rookies.

39pb_tabor

A well loved 1939 Play Ball Jim Tabor. Nicked named “Rawhide”, Tabor was a five-tool player before that phrase became part of the baseball vernacular. Tabor earned his moniker with his hustle, his win-at-any-cost attitude, and his toughness. The condition of this card fits his nickname quite well as I write this. His best year was 1941 in which he batted .279, slugged 16 homers, drove in 101 runners, while adding 17 steals. Over the course of an average 162-season per Baseball-Reference.com, Tabor was a .270/16/97/11 hitter.

36g_rferrell_f

Next up and my last purchase as I was quickly going around before heading out the door, a 1936 Goudey Rick Ferrell. I already have a graded PSA 4, 1935 Diamond Stars of the Hall of Famer, but that’s reserved in a box of graded Sox greats. I was able to grab this for less than a blaster of box at Target and looks better in person than this close up. For my All-Time Sox album, this card was perfect for crossing off Rick Ferrell. I also didn’t have one of these black and white Goudey, so that was a plus.

mhoyle

And finally, some collections adds thanks to Mark Hoyle!!! This was the first time I met Mark in person and I’m sure it won’t be the last!! He handed my a couple more 1967 Dexter Press photo cards of George Smith and Hank Fischer as well as some cards I had in my collection years ago but traded them away for something I was collecting more at that time.

mhoyle2

These cards are part of a 24-card set that was produced my a Maine collector. They are cataloged as 1979 Early Red Sox Favorites in the Standard Catalog of Vintage Baseball Cards. Measuring a little larger than a standard size card at 2-5/8″ x 3-3/4″, these are printed in black and white. The set depicts players from the 1920s-1930s Red Sox and many of these features feature more than one player. These were just added to my All-Time Sox Collection want list (but still need to post above), but thanks to Mark I can cross off several!!

mhoyle3

Here are a couple of the backs to the cards above. Again, if anyone has some of the others, I’ll gladly trade for them!

Lastly, one of the highlights to the show in addition to meeting Mark, was meeting Joel Freedman from OBC from Matt from Number 5 Type Collection. Matt had picked up a number of off-conditioned 1959 Topps high numbers for a buck a piece and knew I was collecting the set. Out of the blue and he said pick up that you need, so #533 Darrell Johnson was added to my set. Thanks Matt!! Mark introduced me to them and managed to chat for about 20-plus minutes (or maybe it was longer). This was the first time I had met other bloggers at a show like this. It really was a great example of how great this hobby can be! I know I’ll definitely try to hook up with Mark again a local show in Mansfield and there’s talk about getting together some night in Providence (RI) for dinner, drinks, and shop talk.

My apologies for any typos, run-on sentences, and the like, but wanted to post with the short time I had this morning. Thank you guys for making a great day even better!

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Also of note, I have some trade packages I need to get out the door in the next couple of days (Brian, Bert, John Miller, and Tony. Scott Crawford, still working on yours and probably close to an 600-800 count box at the moment). Also need to post a recent trade from Brian as well so a busy week ahead here at Off the Wall.

7 thoughts on “Shriner’s Show Haul”

      1. This is one of the biggest shows on the east coast , so you get dealers from all over. It’s amazing what you’ll see at this show.

        My Sox Play Ball, the Bowmans and a good size of my 59 and 65 Topps came from one dealer out of North Carolina called Uncle Dick’s. He caters to collectors just building sets, and had stars and commons from all four sports and from the 1940s to I think 1979. The amount of cards he had was impressive. He had albums for higher grade cards but then boxes of commons and stars at next to nothing for VG–VG/EX stuff. Very helpful to my budget.

        I think one of the coolest pieces I saw from Saturday (and I had never seen one live before) was the 1967/68 Topps Stand Ups. I had always thought they were the standard card size (see the 2016 Heritage Stand Up inserts) but these are actually GIANT!!!

        Like

  1. There was truly some amazing items there. One dealer had 10-12 1952 Mantles all graded. Babe Ruth auto, Babe Ruth rookie card ($90,000, Muhammad Ali autograph, one table had only items from the 1800’s even saw a George Washington signed letter.
    It was great getting to finally meet up and it looks like you did quite well.

    Like

  2. Man, way to clean up! You’re gonna be done with the ’59 set in no time at the pace you’re going at! I’ve always loved the ’50s Bowman cards too, a set of those would look amazing.

    Like

    1. I pulled a number of old black and white Sox images last night, and going to build out some 1934 Batter-Ups, 1936 Goudeys, and Play Balls. Lotta images of guys that never had cards. Between those and other more recent images, I think I’m around 200 images so far of guys that never had cards. Stay tuned you Sox collectors!

      Like

Comments are closed.