A Whole New Game

68tg

1968 Topps Game

The 1968 Topps Game cards are probably the most popular insert set of the 1960’s. This 33-card set full of Hall of Famers measure just smaller than a standard size 1968 Topps bubble gum card. They were issued with the 1968 regular baseball cards and are very similar to the Topps Red Back and Blue Back sets issued in 1951. The cards were designed to be used as a baseball card game. I also believe that these 1968 Topps Game cards were also sold in complete box sets.

I had picked up about eight of these cards over the last year to go at the back of the 1968 Topps set I am working on. However, I saw an auction for a complete set that I couldn’t say no and also just a smidge over $40. The Mantle has some wear but alone runs anywhere from $20–$40 in this condition.

Looking at the Matty Alou (and Clemente) reminded me to ask Pirates fans or Uni-Watch fans, why did the Pirates have those sewn/glued on rectangle “P” patches on these hats in the 1960’s? No other team did this to my knowledge.

I do wonder, how a couple of players failed to make the cut. Bob Gibson, Lou Brock, Tony Oliva, Boog Powell just to name a few. Overall, this is a beautiful set and a real winner.

68tg-168tg-268tg-368tg-4

2 thoughts on “A Whole New Game”

Comments are closed.