Mail Day from Baseball Card Breakdown

Last week, in the wee hours, I was poking around on Jay Bee’s (cough, cough please re-add my blog …) Sportscard Blog Roll when I was reading Gavin’s Baseball Card Breakdown blog on his pursuit of completing his 1971 Topps set. I didn’t have any of those cards, but did cross off some of his 1964 Topps needs along with 3 or 4 cards from his top ten needs. A couple emails backs and forth and in less than a week, I received these awesome cards!!

59_65t

First up, a ’59 Topps that I needed as well as five 1965 Topps, including Ken “Hawk” Harrelson’s rookie! Four of these cards fills in some gaps I have in my set in which I am light on Series 4–6.

73t

Next where a bunch of 1973 Topps. I didn’t scan all but these were some that stood out to me. I already have a ’73 Rico, but that one is autographed so not in my set binder. I’m happy to have another “ROOKIE” card—this one Steve Busby, author of two no-hitters. I am missing a bunch of these “ROOKIE” cards but have the biggies in Schmidt, Dewy, and Lopes.

73t_sox

More 73 Topps, this time a collection of ex- and future Red Sox. Poor Romo, that is one serious airbrush hack job. Jim Lonborg would have a couple of solid years as a Phillie, but was never the same pitcher after the 1967 pennant.Gavin’s pile of ’73 Topps help me complete five pages, those I’ll save for another post this week.

73_kell_173_kell_2

I love these 1973 Kellogg’s cards!!! The ’73 set was different in two distinct ways. It was the only year that lacks lenticular 3-D, and second, Kellogg’s offered collectors a way to get the entire set in a mail-away offer, instead of just through boxes of cereal. This makes the cards more common and much more affordable than previous years. For some reason, I have always liked this set. The colors are bold, it has a great checklist, and the picture and print quality far exceeded the Topps set. Heck with these twelve cards plus the Fisk I have that puts me at a quarter of the set. I might be pursuing another set!! Thanks a lot Gavin! Serious though, if you have some of these, hit me up please as this set is from my birth year so might as well go for it.

hostess_sox

Some well-loved Hostess Red Sox that I didn’t have. These are the types of cards I wonder where the hell they have traveled since some little kid cut them from a box of chocolate food cakes.

betts

Next up, some love for hopefully the 2016 American League MVP, Mookie Betts!! Didn’t have any of these in my collection!

customs

And lastly, some pretty cool (especially the Betts Hostess) custom cards by Gavin himself!! Nicely done there!!! Thank again Gavin for a great trade!!!

4 thoughts on “Mail Day from Baseball Card Breakdown”

  1. Quite a package from Gavin! The Kellogg’s cards are great, I’ll have to take a look around this week as I may have one or two to throw into my package to you…

    Like

Comments are closed.