Surprise Mail Day

67_dexter_scott

1967 Dexter Press George Scott

So Mark Hoyle (@MarkHoyle4) threw me a note asking me if I needed a 1967 Dexter Press card of George “Boomer” Scott, not having one in my Sox collection I said sure! Little did I know I would be receiving this beauty only a couple days later!!!

The Fleer Sticker Project did an excellent write up about these premiums about six years ago so I won’t rehash, but I do recommend checking out his great read!

In a nutshell, you collected the whole team of Coke bottle caps and sent away to receive the whole team in these oversized cards. Scott is one of a 228-card set produced by Dexter Press and issued in team sets as a premium by the Coca-Cola Bottling Co. Eighteen Major League teams participated in the promotion. The set measures approximately 5 1/2 x 7″ and features glossy color waist-to-cap player photos in a white border with a black facsimile autograph at the top. The white backs display player biographical details and career highlights printed in blue. One notable characteristic of these cards, is that while a Coke premium, nowhere on these cards does it mention the Coca-Cola Bottling Co.

Thank you again Mark!! Appreciate the card and now I’ll have to find something to send back your way, or better yet, give to you if me meet up at the Shriner’s Show in November!

